History SAXBO

The Saxon-Bohemian Orienteering Days are surrounded by various myths and stories. The unifying element has always been the desire to act together and across borders in orienteering in the region.

Even before the first SAXBO race, orienteers from Germany and the Czech Republic met for joint activities. At an autumn orienteering event at the beginning of the 90s, the entry fee still consisted of a cold drink containing hops. Even then, participants traveled in several buses to complete an orienteering run in the region and to exchange ideas with like-minded people.

The first official SAXBO took place in 1993. Following an idea of Miroslav Horaček, the goal was to organize a "run without borders". In this two-day event, 664 participants started one day each in the Czech Republic and in Germany.

In 1995, the orienteering group OK Chrastava was founded from the Slavia Liberec club, which from then on organized the SAXBO together with the orienteers from Zittau. In the first joint year, the races were used by numerous national runners from Denmark, Hungary, Poland and Germany as a direct preparation for the World Championships to be held in Detmold in August. The starting list included such names as Thoresen, Jorgensen, Ropek, Olah, Norgaard, or Andersen. There were a total of 873 participants from 12 nations.

In 1997 there was for the first time a special permission from both border authorities, which allowed the Czech starters to arrive in Jonsdorf on foot over the "green border". At a time when the Czech Republic was not even in the EU, 919 participants came to the SAXBO.

In 2000 the German Championships Classic Distance were part of the Saxon-Bohemian Orienteering Days. 970 enthusiastic orienteers traveled to Oybin.

In 2003 there was another big highlight with a world ranking race (1st stage SAXBO). In 2004 there was again a national ranking run in May within the Saxon-Bohemian Orienteering Days.

In 2006, for the first time, it was actually a cross-border competition. Starting from the competition center in Lückendorf, the border was crossed several times during the 3-stage orienteering event. For this purpose a special permit had to be applied for at the border authorities of both countries.

Since then, there have been up to 1000 entries for the event year after year.

In 2019, the 1000 mark was then also broken for the first time in the results list. A total of 1045 enjoyed the competitions in the rocky areas around Lückendorf.

Geschichte SAXBO

Rund um die Sächsisch-Böhmischen Orientierungslauf-Tage ranken sich die unterschiedlichsten Mythen und Geschichten. Das verbindende Element ist seit jeher der Wunsch beim Orientierungslauf in der Region grenzübergreifend und gemeinsam zu agieren.

Schon vor dem ersten Lauf zur SAXBO trafen sich die Orientierungsläufer aus Deutschland und Tschechien zu gemeinsamen Aktivitäten. Bei einem Herbst-OL Anfang der 90iger Jahre bestand das Startgeld noch aus einem hopfenhaltigen Kaltgetränk. Schon damals reisten die Teilnehmer in mehreren Bussen an, um einen Orientierungslauf in der Region zu absolvieren und sich mit Gleichgesinnten auszutauschen.

Die erste offizielle SAXBO fand im Jahr 1993 statt. Nach einer Idee von Miroslav Horaček bestand das Ziel einen „Lauf ohne Grenzen“ zu organisieren. Bei dieser zweitägigen Veranstaltung starteten 664 Teilnehmer jeweils einen Tag in Tschechien und in Deutschland.

Im Jahr 1995 gründete sich aus dem Verein Slavia Liberec die OL-Gruppe OK Chrastava aus, welche ab dann zusammen mit den Zittauer Orientierungsläufern die SAXBO ausrichtete. Im ersten gemeinsamen Jahr nutzten die Läufe zahlreiche Nationalläufer aus Dänemark, Ungarn, Polen und Deutschland als direkte Vorbereitung auf die im August in Detmold stattfindende WM. In der Startliste finden sich solche Namen wie Thoresen, Jorgensen, Ropek, Olah, Norgaard, oder Andersen. Es kamen insgesamt 873 Teilnehmer aus 12 Nationen.

1997 gab es dann erstmals eine Sondergenehmigung beider Grenzbehörden, welche eine Anreise der tschechischen Starter in Jonsdorf zu Fuß über die „grüne Grenze“ gestattete. Zu einer Zeit, wo Tschechien noch nicht mal in der EU war, kamen 919 Teilnehmer zur SAXBO.

Im Jahr 2000 waren die Deutschen Meisterschaften Klassikdistanz Teil der Sächsisch-Böhmischen OL-Tage. 970 begeisterte Oler reisten nach Oybin.

2003 gab es mit einem Weltranglistenlauf (1.Etappe SAXBO) einen weiteren großen Höhepunkt. 2004 folgte im Mai im Rahmen der Sächsisch-Böhmischen Orientierungslauftage abermals ein Bundesranglistenlauf.

2006 war es dann erstmals tatsächlich ein grenzüberschreitender Wettkampf. Ausgehend vom Wettkampfzentrum in Lückendorf wurde beim 3-Etappen-OL mehrfach die Grenze passiert. Dazu musste eine Sondergenehmigung bei den Grenzbehörden beider Staaten beantragt werden.

Seitdem gibt es Jahr für Jahr bis zu 1000 Meldungen für die Veranstaltung.

Im Jahr 2019 wurde dann erstmalig auch in der Ergebnisliste die 1000er-Marke gesprengt. Insgesamt 1045 genossen die Wettkämpfe in den Felsgebieten rund um Lückendorf.