Dense forest in Saalendorf

May 26, 2024

The German stage of the 32nd SAXBO could hardly have been more contrasting than the two stages on Saturday. In physically demanding terrain, the runners had to find their way through an often densely overgrown forest. At the finish, the strain was obvious to many.

It was a really demanding long distance for many participants. In a mix of numerous meters of elevation gain and difficult forest sections, it was not uncommon to run into stones or other objects around the Buchberg. The abundant rain of recent weeks had caused the vegetation to sprout lushly. Many of those starting on one of the age group courses were happy to have successfully mastered the long distance at the finish.

Langdistanz zur SAXBO erfolgreich ├╝berstanden.

 

At the same time, there was also a comprehensive offer for beginners and children on this day. In addition to unaccompanied and accompanied flag distances, there was also the opportunity to take part in Go4 orienteering in the competition center or use the childcare facilities.

Almost 780 participants took part in the German stage. Other guests took the opportunity to get a taste of orienteering at the competition center.

We would like to thank everyone for coming and are already looking forward to next year's German stage, when we will be heading back to a more accessible area.

[Results]    [Livelox]

Dichter Wald in Saalendorf

26. Mai 2024

Die deutsche Etappe zur 32. SAXBO konnte kaum gegensätzlicher zu den beiden Etappen am Samstag sein. In einem physisch stark fordernden Gelände galt es durch einen oft dicht bewachsenen Wald zu orientieren. Im Ziel war vielen die Belastung anzusehen.

Es war eine richtig fordernde Langdistanz für viele Teilnehmenden. In einem Mix aus zahlreichen Höhenmetern und schwer zu belaufenden Waldabschnitten galt es rund um den Buchberg nicht selten Steine oder andere Objekte anzulaufen. Der reichliche Regen der letzten Wochen hatte die Vegetation üppig sprießen lassen. Viele der Startenden auf eine der Altersklassenbahnen waren im Ziel froh die Langdistanz erfolgreich gemeistert zu haben.

Langdistanz zur SAXBO erfolgreich überstanden.

 

Parallel dazu gab es auch an diesem Tag ein umfassendes Angebot für Einsteiger und Kinder. Neben Fähnchenstrecken ohne und mit Begleitung, bestand die Möglichkeit im Wettkampfzentrum an einem Go4-Orienteering teilzunehmen oder die Kinderbetreuung zu nutzen.

Gestartet sind zur deutschen Etappe knapp 780 Teilnehmende. Weitere Gäste nutzten die Möglichkeit im Wettkampfzentrum in den Orientierungslauf reinzuschnuppern.

Wir sagen Danke für das zahlreiche Erscheinen und freuen uns schon auf das nächste Jahr, wenn es bei der deutschen Etappe wieder in ein besser belaufbares Gebiet geht.

[Ergebnis]    [Livelox]